What Happens If I Refuse a Breath Test in Florida?

Question: What Happens If I Refuse a Breath Test in Florida?

It depends because any DUI case can carry with it a dual track: an administrative proceeding, and a criminal proceeding. In the administrative realm, you could have your license suspended for 12 months, or 18 months if this is your second or subsequent refusal. In the criminal proceeding, for a first time DUI, it’s not likely to impact an additional charge. However, if you have previously had a DUI where you refused, it could result in a separate charge. There are different impacts as it relates to the two proceedings.

Contact a Fort Myers Criminal Defense Attorney at the Law Office of Miguel Fernandez to answer all your questions in regards to your rights.